Roles

Roles allow you to manage the permissions for several operators at once. Each role is defined through a set of capabilities. We chose sensible default settings for all roles, but you can override most choices if they don’t suit your workflow. Below we explain the operator roles at your disposal, their default capabilities as well as if and how you can adapt them to your use case.

Existing capabilities

Use the following capabilities to define the roles and access rights of your operators:

General

Capability
Description
Values
Company
Whether operators can access and edit the basic company details.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Organizations
Whether operators can view the settings of organizations they have access to or if they can also edit them and create new organizations.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Audit log
Whether operators can access the audit log.
OFF | ON
Chat settings
Whether operators can access and edit existing Widgets, channels, macros, topics and other chat-related settings.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Roles
Whether operators can access and edit existing roles.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Operator settings
Whether operators can access and edit settings of other operators apart from their own.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Add-on settings
Whether operators can access and enable third-party add-ons for their organizations.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Analytics
Whether operators can access the Analytics section and configure own Dashboard views.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Message Center
Whether operators can access the Message Center and chat with contacts.
OFF | ON
Depending on your product plan, not all of these capabilities may have an effect. For example, only customers on our Flex plan can have more than one organization. So, if you’re not on Flex, your operators won’t be able to create new organizations although they have the required capability.

Conversations

Note that even with the lowest permission level, OFF, operators can always reply to conversations assigned to them. Thus, the first 4 capabilities of this section only control access to certain categories of their colleagues’ conversations.
READ means operators can only see a conversations of the respective category. WRITE allows them to also interact with them, that means reply, reassign, change topics, add notes etc.
Capability
Description
Values
Assigned conversations of own group
Whether operators can view assigned conversations of their group and interact with them..
OFF | READ | WRITE
Unassigned conversations of own group
Whether operators can view unassigned conversations of their group and interact with them.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Assigned conversations of own organization
Whether operators can view assigned conversations of all groups in their organization and interact with them.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Unassigned conversations of own organization
Whether operators can view unassigned conversations of all groups in their organization and interact with them.
OFF | READ | WRITE
Delete conversations
Whether operators can delete conversations they have WRITEaccess to.
OFF | ON
Export conversations
Whether operators can export conversations they have WRITEaccess to.
OFF | ON
Delete conversation notes
Whether operators can delete notes of conversations they have WRITE access to.
OFF | ON

Contacts

Capability
Description
Values
Contact overview
Whether operators can view the Contacts section in the Message Center.
OFF | ON
Edit contacts
Whether operators can edit information in contact profiles and in conversations they have WRITE access to.
OFF | ON
Delete contacts
Whether operators can delete contacts.
OFF | ON
Delete contact notes of others
Whether operators can delete contact notes left by other operators.
OFF | ON

Default role capabilities

We have pre-configured all existing roles with sensible defaults. Here you find the standard capabilities and their possible modifications for each role.

Owner role

The Owner is the mightiest of roles: it is created when you first register your Userlike account. By default all capabilities are enabled and those can not be customized.

Manager role

After the Owner, the Manager is by default the most powerful role. It can, however, be completely customized to your needs.
Capability
Customizable
Default value
Alternative values
Company
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Organizations
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Audit log
Yes
ON
OFF
Chat settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Roles
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Operator settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Add-on settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Analytics
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Message Center
Yes
ON
OFF
Assigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Unassigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Assigned conversations (organization)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Unassigned conversations (organization)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Delete conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Export conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete conversation notes
Yes
ON
OFF
Contact overview
Yes
ON
OFF
Edit contacts
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete contacts
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete contact notes of others
Yes
ON
OFF

Admin role

The Admin role by default is still powerful enough to manage different operators or Widget settings and make changes to Analytics.
Capability
Customizable
Default value
Alternative values
Company
No
OFF
None
Organizations
No
OFF
None
Audit log
Yes
OFF
ON
Chat settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Roles
No
OFF
None
Operator settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Add-on settings
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Analytics
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Message Center
Yes
ON
OFF
Assigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Unassigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Assigned conversations (organization)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Unassigned conversations (organization)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Delete conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Export conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete conversation notes
Yes
ON
OFF
Contact overview
Yes
ON
OFF
Edit contacts
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete contacts
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete contact notes of others
Yes
ON
OFF

Staff role

The Staff role can chat with contacts, edit conversations and view several settings sections.
Capability
Customizable
Default value
Alternative values
Company
No
OFF
None
Organizations
No
OFF
None
Audit log
No
OFF
None
Chat settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Roles
No
OFF
None
Operator settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Add-on settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Analytics
Yes
OFF
READ | WRITE
Message Center
Yes
ON
OFF
Assigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Unassigned conversations (group)
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Assigned conversations (organization)
Yes
OFF
READ | WRITE
Unassigned conversations (organization)
Yes
OFF
READ | WRITE
Delete conversations
Yes
OFF
ON
Export conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete conversation notes
Yes
OFF
ON
Contact overview
Yes
ON
OFF
Edit contacts
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete contacts
Yes
OFF
ON
Delete contact notes of others
Yes
ON
OFF

Analyst role

The Analyst role is very similar to the Staff role. Conversely to the Staff role, though, the Analyst can access Analytics data and view conversations but not chat with contacts.
Capability
Customizable
Default value
Alternative values
Company
No
OFF
None
Organizations
No
OFF
None
Audit log
No
OFF
None
Chat settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Roles
No
OFF
None
Operator settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Add-on settings
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Analytics
Yes
WRITE
OFF | READ
Message Center
Yes
ON
OFF
Assigned conversations (group)
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Unassigned conversations (group)
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Assigned conversations (organization)
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Unassigned conversations (organization)
Yes
READ
OFF | WRITE
Delete conversations
Yes
OFF
ON
Export conversations
Yes
ON
OFF
Delete conversation notes
Yes
OFF
ON
Contact overview
Yes
ON
OFF
Edit contacts
Yes
OFF
ON
Delete contacts
Yes
OFF
ON
Delete contact notes of others
Yes
OFF
ON

Agent role

Next to the Owner, the Agent is the other special role we offer: agents only have access to the Message Center where they can answer and edit conversations of their own group and to the contact overview. Use this role for operators that only chat with contacts and don’t browse the Dashboard.

Editing roles

To customize a role’s capabilities, go to Team Roles Here you see all existing roles and the capabilities they currently have in three tabs for General permissions, Conversation permissions and Contact permissions. Let’s customize the Analyst in an example. Click on Change permissions.
Image without caption
You want your Analysts to be able to change contact information, so you grant them the capability Edit contacts and then update the settings:
Image without caption
Back in the role overview, the Analyst role now reflects the changes you just made:
Image without caption
Please note that only the Owner can edit the Manager role. As a Manager, the role overview will therefore have no edit button for the Manager role:
Image without caption
👉🏻
read this article in English: https://docs.userlike.com/setup/team/roles